Spiderman (2002)

spider-man-2-wallpaper-363,1366x768,363

‘Remember, with great power, comes great responsibility’ 

Sam Raimi directs the first in the original Spiderman superhero trilogy about the nerdy student (Tobey McGuire) who gets bitten by a genetically modified spider and gains special ‘spider powers.’ He must use his special powers to protect and his family , defeat the menacing Green Goblin (William Defoe) and protect the woman he loves, Mary Jane Watson (Kirsten Dunst).

I adored this film when it first came out when I was about ten and have to admit I have a slight obsession with superhero movies for some reason. Even as a film student now, the cinematography is still pretty superb with a good mix of characters. My only main flaw is that the CGI and some of the special effects aren’t always that great and by contemporary standards probably look pretty dated. I think at times the clichés are played up a bit too much, for example Mary Jane as the damsel in distress, the evil villain etc.

I also thought that Rosemary Harris and the late Cliff Roberton were good supporting characters as Aunt May and Uncle Ben, Peter’s guardians. I always tear up in the scene between Uncle Ben and Peter in the car before he gets killed.

Overall, a pretty good ok film.

My rating: 3/5

This  is my gift and this is my curse. Who am I? I’m Spiderman.

Leave a Reply

