Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves (1991)

Locksley, I’ll cut your heart out with a spoon.’

Kevin Reynolds directed this action adventure film about nobleman Robin of Locksley who escapes prison saved by prisoner Azeem (Morgan Freeman). Locksley has been fighting on the same side as Richard the Lionheart (Sean Connery) but he is in France. The Sheriff of Nottingham (Alan Rickman) rules instead with his cousin the Guy of Gisbourne(Michael Wincott).

Robin returns to find his father dead, his home in ruins and the people of Nottingham oppressed by the Sheriff. Robin must join forces with a group of outlaws who are lead by Little John (Nick Brimble) and Will Scarlett (Christian Slater). Robin must also protect the beautiful  lady Marion Dubois (Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio).

I have been obsessed with the Robin Hood story since I watched the 1970s Disney animated film when I was little and ultimately being captivated with this film growing up. The soundtrack is particularly spectacular as is the breathtaking scenery. The late Alan Rickman is the most hilarious character as the Sheriff and was apparently allowed to compromise his dialogue from what Reynolds intended in the script.

As an aside, It’s also very amusing that, having rewatched it the other day I understood sexual jokes now that I am an adult compared to when I was younger. An interesting trivia fact is that it was the second highest grossing film in 1991.

A super action film with the perfect combination of swashbuckling heroes, romance and comedy. Bryan Adams also sung the romantic ballad ‘Everything I do, I do it for You’ that is heard at the end of the film. The central criticism in the film was the witch Mortianna (Geraldine McEwan) as I used to get creeped out by her character when I was younger and when I rewatched the film I just found her annoying.

My rating: 4/5

‘But will you do it for your king?’

‘No, I’ll do it for you.’

Leave a Reply

